History of CICS

The College of Information Technology, now College of Information and Computing Sciences, was conceptualized as the University's response to the manpower needs of labor market that was rapidly overtaken by advances in the field of Information Technology.

The Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT) program started in 1998 as one of the academic programs of the College of Arts and Sciences under the deanship of Dr. Magdalena M. Pagalilauan and Mr. Edison D. Bravo as Program Head. It opened with only 110 enrolees. Revisions of the curriculum were made in 1999, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, and 2008.

Effective 1st Semester, SY 2005-2006, the Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT) program under the College of Arts and Sciences was developed into the College of Information Technology, with Dr. Mary Jane D. Aragon as first Dean of the new College. In line with this modification, the College offered Master of Science in Information Technology (MSIT) by virtue of Resolution No. 233 s. 2005. The program started with 14 enrolees. Cagayan State University is the first state/government university in the Region to offer graduate program in Information Technology.

The College has simultaneously embarked on an intensive human and physical resources development which contributed to the 600% increase in enrolment in 2005. As of March 2010, the College has already graduated 959 students.

On January 2007, with Mr. Gregory M. Danguilan as the next Dean, the College started its membership with Microsoft Developers Network Academic Alliance (MSDNAA) program. Through membership in MSDNAA, the University delivers technical training on Microsoft technology to students in order to meet the demands of the global technology market.

In the same year, the College of Information Technology joined the Ladderized Education Program spearheaded by TESDA. Every year level is an exit point so that those who will not be able to finish the four-year degree will still be able to receive certifications and acquire competencies that will equip them to look for a related job.

In the year 2008, the College expanded with as a new program in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (BSCS), which offers to meet the growing needs of highly technological manpower in the region. This was made possible through the leadership of Ms. Adelina N. Apeles, as the Dean, and Department Chair Mr. Edison D. Bravo.

In 2009, a new program, BSIT Major in Animation, was introduced as yet another milestone for the College. These developments in the College in terms of curricular offerings, and with the University's advocacy to offer a zero-tuition-fee admission, the College grew to a staggering 2,400 students at the start of school year 2010-2011. This was also the time when the College was named College of Information and Computer Science.

At the start of second semester of school year 2009-2010, a new leadership arose with Mr. Generino Siddayao as the dean, Mr. Edison Bravo as Program Chair of BSCS, Mr. Manny Capili as Program Chair of BSIT, and Mr. Eldomar De Leon as the Coordinator for BSIT-Animation.

Back to Top